PDA

View Full Version : omg! zombies! real or not


Zygotic Embryo
May4-05, 10:54 PM
http://65.127.124.62/south_asia/4483241.stm.htm

Ivan Seeking
May4-05, 11:01 PM
Last Updated: Friday, 1 April, 2005, 17:00 GMT 18:00 UK

A little late for April Fools day.

Danger
May4-05, 11:05 PM
http://65.127.124.62/south_asia/4483241.stm.htm
Makes one wonder if the bugs produce a neurotoxin similar to the blowfish extract believed to be a component of the Haitian 'zombie drug'. In that case, the victims aren't truly dead in the first place. It takes a close examination by a medical expert to tell that they're alive, though.

Ivan Seeking
May4-05, 11:09 PM
AFAIK, this is the real explanation for the Zombie folklore.

The Secrets of Haiti’s Living Dead
A Harvard botanist investigates mystic potions, voodoo rites, and the making of zombies
http://64.233.179.104/search?q=cache:78yo4OTq18UJ:www.dushkin.com/text-data/articles/2564/body.pdf+Zombie+drug+slave&hl=en

http://www.dushkin.com/text-data/articles/2564/body.pdf

Ivan Seeking
May4-05, 11:12 PM
Makes one wonder if the bugs produce a neurotoxin similar to the blowfish extract believed to be a component of the Haitian 'zombie drug'. In that case, the victims aren't truly dead in the first place. It takes a close examination by a medical expert to tell that they're alive, though.


That's not even a BBC page. Its a hoax. :biggrin:

Danger
May4-05, 11:23 PM
That's not even a BBC page. Its a hoax. :biggrin:
How on Earth can you tell? With the exception of not having the site name in the top left corner, which I took to be because it wasn't a front page, I can't see any difference between it and the real BBC things that I've looked at before. (And don't say that it's because of the article itself; I've seen weirder stuff in real papers.) Keep in mind that I've only had Internet since the end of February, and haven't really gone anywhere but PF. What gives it away as a fake? :confused:
Also, I don't have time to read the links right now. Things like that take a long time because of my eyesight and various distractions. I do, however, have a copy of 'The Serpent and the Rainbow', which is based more or less on Wade Davis' experiences.

Kakarot
May4-05, 11:49 PM
How on Earth can you tell? With the exception of not having the site name in the top left corner, which I took to be because it wasn't a front page, I can't see any difference between it and the real BBC things that I've looked at before. (And don't say that it's because of the article itself; I've seen weirder stuff in real papers.) Keep in mind that I've only had Internet since the end of February, and haven't really gone anywhere but PF. What gives it away as a fake? :confused:
Also, I don't have time to read the links right now. Things like that take a long time because of my eyesight and various distractions. I do, however, have a copy of 'The Serpent and the Rainbow', which is based more or less on Wade Davis' experiences.

most fake news sites like that just have an ip instead of a real domain name. if its bbc then it will have the real bbc in the domain name like www.bbc.co.uk or whatever

TheStatutoryApe
May4-05, 11:53 PM
What gives it away as a fake?
This is the page adress for the BBC.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/
If the page adress (URL) doesn't match it's not from the BBC site.
-----edit-----
Damn... beaten to the punch.

Danger
May5-05, 12:48 AM
most fake news sites like that just have an ip instead of a real domain name

If the page adress (URL) doesn't match it's not from the BBC site.
Thanks both. It'll come in handy in future. That sucker sure looked real, and all of the links went to the real place. It's a jungle out there.

Mk
May6-05, 12:14 AM
Remember this one?
http://homepage.mac.com/nikkienikks/iblog/C294808266/E910814554/Media/cnn.html

Danger
May6-05, 12:26 AM
Remember this one?
http://homepage.mac.com/nikkienikks/iblog/C294808266/E910814554/Media/cnn.html
Of course; that's what prompted us to start the clinic. Since I'd never seen the real CNN site, and was led there by a known prankster, it was obviously a fake. :uhh:

dextercioby
May6-05, 03:41 AM
He can be sued for illegally using the layout of the BBC page.I'd say it's copyrighted.

Daniel.