Physics Forums

Physics Forums (http://www.physicsforums.com/index.php)
-   Science & Math Textbooks (http://www.physicsforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Best Textbook for Quantum Mechanics (http://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=13990)

student1938 Feb6-04 08:30 PM

Best Textbook for Quantum Mechanics

I am taking a quantum mechanics course in my third year and find that the book by Brehm and Mullin is not at all very good. Are there any books that are known to be good and useful for studying Quantum Mechanics?

RedX Feb6-04 10:31 PM

Well I'm self-studying quantum mechanics with The Feynman Lectures in Physics, volume III. I think it's a good book, but it might be too easy for you if you're a physics student (I'm a mechanical engineering student so it's perfect for me), so then perhaps Landau's Nonrelativistic Quantum Mechanics book might be more at your level. I think if you haven't looked at The Feynman Lectures, you really ought to. The way he teaches it, by showing you the electron double slit experiment, really gets at the heart of quantum mechanics. Most books begin with Schrodinger's equation, but that doesn't offer any physical insight into the heart of quantum mechanics and restricts yourself to the cooridinate representation. I mean when you 1st learn math you learn the integers, and then you go on to learn rationals and irrationals. I think it's appropriate to begin learning systems which can be described with a finite number of base states, and then go on to continuous base states. Anyway that's just my opinion.

Stingray Feb7-04 12:58 AM

Liboff is good for the usual intro QM stuff.

Cohen-Tannoudji (sp?) et al. is the standard for a more thorough treatment.

There are more interesting theoretical books out there, but I think this is what you're looking for.

A very good book of interesting solved problems (not the usual homework garbage) that shows you how the ideas are actually used is Flugge's "Practical Quantum Mechanics"