Physics Forums

Physics Forums (http://www.physicsforums.com/index.php)
-   Electrical Engineering (http://www.physicsforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=102)
-   -   RI interference on a garage door (http://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=378406)

davisa Feb15-10 12:09 AM

RI interference on a garage door

I'm not an engineer and I figured an EE would be able to help me on this problem. I have a garage door opener that has lost its range due to RI. I've tried everything from powering down my entire house, replacing the mother board, and the remotes and nothing works. I've worked with the manufacturer with no results and there has got to be a answer beside switching to 315 and buying all new remotes and a receiver. Please help.

Can I buy something to find out where the RI is coming from, kinda like a metal detector for RI on this frequency?

This is what I've found and other than this I'm stumped.

"Fine the lines coming into the control head from the manual doorbell switch and the electric eye sensors. You must filter these at the control head by either soldering series inductors in each line to choke the RF or by winding these lines around ferrite toroids. You may also want to try a simpler solution: Place a .01 mf cap cap across the leads at the terminal strip on the main unit."

skeptic2 Feb15-10 08:01 AM

Re: RI interference on a garage door

What brand is your garage door opener?
How far is the range?
Where do you live?

davisa Feb15-10 02:26 PM

My garage door is a Chamberlain 1/2 HP model 995XDM. My range is between 1 foot to 7-8 depending on the day. The 7-8 foot range is only when the door is already open. I live in Vacaville Ca which is close to Travis Air Force Base (about 15 miles), so i thought that it was the LMR (Land-Mobile-Radio) system that was causing this but my neighbors don't have this problem.

skeptic2 Feb15-10 06:52 PM