Physics Forums

Physics Forums (http://www.physicsforums.com/index.php)
-   Electrical Engineering (http://www.physicsforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=102)
-   -   Test Equipment (http://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=516195)

Odysseus Jul22-11 03:17 PM

Test Equipment

Back again to ask another question about test equipment. I'm very new at this so please bear with me. I'm trying to work through this book and build this radio. In order to do a lot of the exercises in the book I need access to an oscilloscope, function generator, counter and a tabletop multimeter. To name a few. As I'm sure yall know, that's a hefty investment in equipment, which I'm prepared to make, but I plan on doing more projects after this one and I want the stuff I buy now to be useful when I move on. My maximum budget is 3K.

So far the most appealing option I've come across is a multifunction pc platform: TinaLab II. It appeals to me because has all of the equipment I need, is expandable and you combine into one program simulation and data collection. Plus the software and hardware together is well within my price range. There are a few hangups though, Rutledge recommends a 15 MHz function generator, TinaLab II only provides up to 4 MHz. Rutledge also recommends a 3A power supply, I'm not sure that TinaLab II can provide that as the power rating is stated in volts on the website.

To my understanding, PC based platforms are not popular with most electronics enthusiasts. Is this a bad purchase? If it is a good purchase, is there a workaround that would allow me to increase the frequency of the function generator? Should I just buy the individual equipment? I'd appreciate any advice yall can give me.

Studiot Jul22-11 06:20 PM

Re: Test Equipment

There is an amazing quantity of top notch test gear always going at ridiculous prices on the US Ebay.