Physics Forums

Physics Forums (http://www.physicsforums.com/index.php)
-   Special & General Relativity (http://www.physicsforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=70)
-   -   Twins paradox and ageing (http://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=99332)

adw73uk Nov10-05 02:45 PM

Twins paradox and ageing

Hi, I'm a Biology teacher, constantly getting into discussions with the physics teachers at my school regarding the effect of travelling at speed on ageing.

They have explained to me (countless times) all the examples and experiments that show that time passes more slowly for objects travelling at speed (atomic clocks on planes, flashing light at one second intervals, looking at a stationary clock while travelling at the speed of light).

I have got my head around the fact that speed and time (I think) is relative (except the speed of light) to the frame of reference of the observer.

What I can't get my head around is how in the twins paradox one twin has [I]physically[I] aged more than the other. How does travelling at the speed of light affect the chemical reactions involved in the ageing of (biological) cells?

I have tried to get my head around Einsteins publications, but are a bit over my head so you'll need to bring any explanation down to a low level!

Any help would be appreciated before I finally fry my brain pondering this one!

Regards

Janus Nov10-05 05:01 PM

I quess the simpliest thing I could tell you is to remember that all chenical reactions take place by electromagnetic interaction.

russ_watters Nov10-05 06:44 PM

How would a clock be affected, but not biological processes?

RandallB Nov10-05 07:08 PM

Quote:

Quote by adw73uk
What I can't get my head around is how in the twins paradox one twin has [I]physically[I] aged more than the other. How does travelling at the speed of light affect the chemical reactions involved in the ageing of (biological) cells?