The Physical Meaning of Laplacian(f) = 0 in Vector Analysis Explained - MTarek

• Thread starter mtarek16
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physical
In summary, the conversation discusses the definition and physical meaning of the Laplacian and its relationship to a potential function of a vector field. The Laplacian of a function at a point measures how much the function deviates from its local average, similar to the second derivative for functions of a single variable. When the Laplacian is zero, the function has no local maxima or minima and can be visualized as a saddle point on a surface. The conversation also mentions the possibility of using a graphical example to further clarify the concept.
mtarek16
Hello all,

Could anyone please define the physical meaning of [Laplacian(f) = 0; f is a potential function of a vector field] ..

I don't know whether it's easy or not, but I'm a noob in vector analysis, so I thought I'd better ask :)

Regards,
MTarek

Mathematics news on Phys.org
What function has 0 as its Laplace transform? Well, f=0 will work, and the inverse transforms are unique, so f=0 is the only solution. Or am I totally wrong?

Oops, my bad. Ignore everything I said.

The laplacian of a function at a point, [tex]\Delta f(p)[/tex] measures how much f(p), deviates from the average of f on a small circle surrounding p. This is similar to how the second derivative measures whether a function of a single variable is concave up or concave down, except extended to functions of many variables. In a sense, it measures how much the function is "curving up" or "curving down" around a point.

If the laplacian is zero, that means that f(p) is equal to the local average of f. Imagine f as a 2D surface, and (px,py,f(p)) is a point on the surface - If the surface is curving up in one direction around p, it must be curving down in another direction. Thus functions where laplacian f is zero everywhere are ones where every point looks like a saddle point.