Basic general ed classes before classes for 4 yr Bachelor's degree?

In summary: After that, GE courses can be taken in any order, but they must be related to the liberal arts. In summary, most schools require you to take two classes that are not related to your degree, and they usually can be taken at any time before you graduate.
TL92
I'm in the U.S. and i was wondering if you have to take the general ed classes before the classes that relate to you degree. like the general ed classes could be English 1A, some history classes, etc.. just those. I thought that after you graduate high school you can immediately start working on getting your BA or BS degree? How do I know i need to take the gen ed. classes and how long will those take? To get a degree seems like an avg. 4 yrs, would it be longer with the Ged classes?

Physics news on Phys.org
Most schools will require you to take about two courses that are not relevant to your degree. I majored in math and was required to take one social science and one arts & humanities course (which was history and philosophy respectively). Besides that, what courses you choose are up to you.

Most programs are general enough that you can take a few unrelated courses while you are still figuring out exactly what you want to do.

Most students don't wait until finishing their general education courses before starting on their major-specific courses. They mix them together, usually trying to finish the general-education stuff as soon as possible without impeding progress in the major. I teach at a small liberal-arts college that has a lot of general-education requirements. Most physics majors finish most of the g.-e. requirements by the end of the second year, but most of them still take a few g.-e. courses in the third and even fourth years.

How do I know i need to take the gen ed. classes and how long will those take?