Clubs must for grad school admission?

In summary, extracurricular activities, such as community work and being a member of a student organization, may not be necessary for admission into top graduate schools. These schools primarily focus on grades, test scores, research experience, and recommendations. However, being a tutor or a teaching assistant in your field of study may be beneficial for math and physics graduate programs. Other extracurricular activities, such as volunteer work, may not have a significant impact on grad school applications.
grlingo
Hi.

I wonder if extracurriculars are necessary for admission into top graduate schools.
Currently as an undergraduate, I am doing some community work and I am a member of the IEEE student chapter at my university. But I am not much active in the chapter and I won't become an officer. Will it be an obstacle for me while applying to top grad schools like Stanford an MIT?

Physics news on Phys.org
Not really. Grad schools don't really care about much beyond grades, test scores, research experience, and recommendations.

If you're applying to Math/Physics schools, being a university tutor in Math/Physics or a TA may be marginally helpful. It may also help you do better on the subject test. Other than that, volunteer and charity work, while possibly being self-fulfulling, is rather irrelevant on grad school applications.

1. What clubs should I join to increase my chances of getting into grad school?

The specific clubs or organizations you should join will depend on your field of study and interests. It's important to choose clubs that align with your academic and career goals, and that allow you to develop relevant skills and experiences. Some examples may include academic honor societies, research clubs, or professional organizations related to your desired field.

2. How many clubs should I join to impress grad school admissions?