Chemistry in Industry- water treatment

In summary, the water treatment process involves injecting chlorine into the water to kill the pathogens. If there is no residual of chlorine when the water leaves the last reaction vessel, this is an indication that the pathogens were killed. Chloramine is less effective than free chlorine but it is still used because it has less of an effect on taste and odor.
leah3000
hello

I'm studying industry and the environment as part of my chemistry A level course. Water and water treatment falls under this.

I'm having trouble understanding what exactly is meant by a disinfectant residual in the treatment of water. Can someone please explain this.

Also why are chloramines more widely used as a disinfectant if it causes the growth of bacteria? I thought the point of disinfecting was to eliminate the bacteria.

Chemistry news on Phys.org
Let's say you are using chlorine to disinfect waste-water. You inject chlorine (in some form) into the waste stream and the waste spends some time in a reaction vessel or a series of reaction vessels so that the chlorine has time to kill pathogens. If there is not a residual of chlorine in the waste-water when it leaves the last reaction vessel, that is an indication that all the chlorine was taken up, and you might not have killed all the pathogens. If there is a residual of free chlorine in the waste-water leaving the reaction vessel, that is a sign that you have done a thorough job killing the organisms that can take up chlorine. This is a rough guideline, and wastewater treatment plant operators fine-tune the required residual by running biological tests (typically E Coli tests) on the effluent. If E Coli is still present at a given chlorine residual, it will be necessary to increase the feed rate of the disinfectant.