Recommended GR Texts for Physics/Math Background

• Thread starter marschmellow
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Gr
In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's background in physics and math and their interest in learning about general relativity. They are unsure if MTW, a textbook on the subject, is suitable for their level of understanding. The expert suggests alternative texts such as Hartle or Carroll, with Carroll being a more recent and free option. They also recommend reading Spacetime Physics for those with concerns about their understanding of special relativity.
marschmellow
My physics background is sparse--I only know classical mechanics and E&M, and I have a self-taught (and therefore foggy) quantitative understanding of special relativity to go with my (I think) strong qualitative understanding. My math background is a bit better but not much: multivariable calculus, linear algebra, differential equations, and after this Spring I'll have some abstract algebra under my belt too. I want to figure out if MTW would be a good text for me, but I can't find anything other than its table of contents online, so I have no idea how much it assumes understanding of differential geometry and how much the book teaches you it. If MTW is too advanced for someone of my math-and-physics background, is there another text you would recommend? And I'm perfectly okay with the answer "Please just wait until later before trying to teach yourself GR." If that's true, that would be the most helpful response.

Physics news on Phys.org
MTW is too advanced. You could try Hartle; all you really need is Lagrangian dynamics/calculus of variations and some orbital mechanics. (If you don't know these just read a few chapters of an intermediate mechanics book--Taylor is my favorite--and you should be OK.)