Proving: Neighborhoods of x and y Have Empty Intersection

• Thread starter Trung
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Analysis
In summary, the problem is asking to prove that there exists a neighborhood of x and a neighborhood of y such that their intersection is empty. This can be visually represented as two separate brackets, one around x and one around y, without touching each other. The sets (x-r, x+r) and (y-s, y+s) can be used as neighborhoods with a radius of 1/3 the distance between x and y, but further steps are needed to turn this into a rigorous argument.
Trung

Homework Statement

Let x and y be real numbers. Prove there is a neighborhood P of x and a neighborhood Q of y such that P intersection Q is the empty set.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Sorry, I know this is elementary to many of you, but I am just starting out in this course and I need some hints on how to get started.

Physics news on Phys.org
It is asking "can you fit a pair of brackets around x and another pair of brackets around y such that the two pairs of brackets do not touch each other?" Remember, you are the one choosing how tight the first pair of brackets (around x) as well as how tight the second pair (around y). (You can make them as tight as you want.)

Pictorially it would be something like this:

<---------------(---x---)---------(-----y-----)--------------->

...but this diagram does not constitute a proof. I do not know how to make it into a rigorous argument. I have the sets (x-r, x+r) and (y-s, y+s) but I don't know what to do with them.

If x and y are different then they have some non-zero distance between them. Think about neighborhoods of x and y with radius equal to 1/3 that distance.

1. How do you prove that neighborhoods of x and y have empty intersection?