What Happens When Space-Time Reaches the Speed of Light?

• Thread starter What Do I Know?
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Light Time
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of the universe expanding and accelerating infinitely. The question is raised about what happens when the speed of space-time reaches the speed of light. It is clarified that while the expansion of space-time can occur faster than the speed of light, this does not violate the laws of nature as it is not an object moving through space. The discussion ends with an appreciation for the complexity of the topic.
What Do I Know?
alrighty brainiacs... I love all this stuff but I'm still a newbie. I was watching a show on the Science Channel which stated that our Universe is not only expanding, but accelerating infinitely. Old news, I know. So, a question popped into my head. Maybe this is simple and I just don't get it. Hope I can explain it.

okay.. here goes..

If the Universe (space-time) is accelerating infinitely, what happens when the speed of space-time itself reaches the speed of light, which is in theory the fastest thing going?

Does everything go haywire and start a new big bang? Or can the speed of accelerating space-time actually reach the speed of light at all?

- Joe

Astronomy news on Phys.org
<mindblow>
Spacetime itself can expand "faster than the speed of light" because the expansion isn't a speed. Nothing can go through space faster than light, but spacetime isn't going through itself, it's expanding - different thing, different laws of nature apply. Relative to us, some of the distant galaxies that we can see are "receding faster than light". Actually it isn't their motion, it's the space between us expanding.
</mindblow>

See? I knew I came to the right place. Pretty bizarro stuff. Thanks!

1. What is the relationship between time and light?