How to Map a USB Printer to LPT1/2/3 in Citrix Metaframe XP 1.0?

• Thread starter Ranik
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Map Usb
In summary, the conversation discusses the issue of Citrix Metaframe XP 1.0 not supporting USB printers for application use. The solution suggested is to redirect the USB port as a LPT1/2/3 (Parallel) port. The user has tried using the NET USE command but it does not work for Citrix. The suggestion is to share the printer and use the net use command to redirect it to LPT1. The conversation also includes steps to check if the printer is working properly.
Ranik
Hello,

I am a new sysop for a company who uses Citrix Metaframe XP 1.0 and ICA remote connections.

As far as I can tell, this version of Citrix does not support USB Printers when it auto-configures client printers for application use. However if the same printer is plugged into a LPT (Parallel) port, it pickes it up every time.

I need to know how to redirect the ports so that Citrix thinks that the USB port is a LPT1/2/3 (Parallel) port.

The Operating Systems we use are WIN 2000 and XP.

*Already tried the DOS trick of 'NET USE LPT1: \\COMPUTER\PRINTER /PERSISTANT:YES'

That works for DOS printing but Citrix will still not register the printer as valid.

Any Help is greatly appreciated.

Ranik
Ranik@charter.net

Computer science news on Phys.org
This from a dead website, http://blogs.ineta.org/dtotzke/articles/26204.aspx

1. Share the printer, say as "hp404"
2. at the CMD prompt, type:
net use lpt1: \\127.0.0.1\hp404
3. Check by:
A.
COPY CON LPT1:
Type line of text
Control-Z

B. COPY CON PRN:
Type in line of text
Control-Z

C. PRINT SOMEFILE.TXT

1. How do I map a USB printer to LPT1/2/3?