Hydrostatic behaviour - water in tube

In summary, the question is about the required height to diameter ratio for a water-filled tube to remain sealed when inverted. The answer is that the pressure on the water-air interface must be less than atmospheric pressure, and the height needs to be less than 10 meters. The recommended procedure for achieving this is to fill the tube to the brim, quickly invert it, and then remove a card covering the opening.
ralphamale
To moderator - I had mistakenly posted this to the "General Physics" forum and later noticed the note about not posting there - sorry! I hope this is the correct location for posting the following question.

I am a novice on this site and am trying to find an answer to a question which is: I filled a tube 48" x 1.5" with water, sealing one end and then inverted it - I expected the water to remain due to the vacuum but it did not. Is there a certain ratio of ht. to dia. required to keep the water in the tube? I would appreciate any imput, guidance or direction on this...Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
ralphamale said:
Is there a certain ratio of ht. to dia. required to keep the water in the tube?