Absorption Spectra - Questions & Answers from NZ High School Student

In summary: The electron doesn't just "fall back down." It oscillates up and down a certain number of times, and then eventually settles at a particular energy level.
kcodon
Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and in fact have never used a forum before so this is a bit new for me. I'm a high school student from NZ, and some of the course I'm doing has flummoxed -not in that I can't rattle off the generic answer, I just don't quite understand. The main area in this is that we just started the idea of absorption spectrum, and basically my problem is: Why can an electron only absorb a specific energy from a photon to move up an energy level? I understand it obviously can't absorb less, but I don't see why it can't just absorb more, and then re-emit the excess so as to fall back down. If anyone could spread some light on this it would be greatly appreciated, and sorry if I don't reply on time as unfortunately have homework. If anyone has the time to answer some more questions on some general quantum theory, that would be neat too:

How does the electron actually know what energy to absorb...I'm assuming it doesn't absorb the energy, escape orbit and then realize it doesn't have enough energy and fall back down...

Also why doesn't the electron spiral into the nucleus...I've read explanations about the orbitals being stable, but surely they can't be so stable as to overcome electrostatic force of attraction (well they can obviously in real life, that a statement of my opinion there).

And this is related to the above question...why does an accelerating charge emit radiation?