GRE Physics Syllabus: Depth & Lab Methods

In summary, the conversation revolved around studying for the GRE exam and the depth required for certain topics such as Lagrangian and Hamiltonian formulation, noninertial reference frames, and mathematical methods. The suggestion was made to use a general GRE review book and to practice with past exams. For the specialized topics, it was recommended to refer to the GRE Physics syllabus and to take past exams available online. The conversation also touched on the need for understanding lab methods and a book recommendation was requested for this topic.
collectedsoul
Hi

I'm studying for the GRE exam and time is not on my side. So I wanted some idea of how much depth I need to go into in some of the more complex areas. The syllabus mentions the Lagrangian and Hamiltonian formulation, noninertial reference frames and mathematical methods like Fourier series, boundary value problems, etc. and there's a section on Specialized topics. How much depth do I have to go into for each of these topics and what book should I follow for the Specialized Topics?

Also I have no experience in Lab methods and there's a whole section on it in the syllabus. Is there any book or any other source where I can get an idea of these methods?

Any advice would be appreciated.

This is the GRE Physics syllabus: http://www.ets.org/gre/subject/about/content/physics"

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
I would advice getting a general GRE review book. They are pretty good at listing what you need to know and also have practice tests in the back that will be a good sample of what is on the GRE.

Are you aware of the four past exams available? You can find them http://www.physics.ohio-state.edu/undergrad/ugs_gre.php" for instance, at the bottom of the page. These are the single best study tool for the physics GRE. I suggest you take one immediately and see how you score and then go over it to see where you are lacking.