Discover the Perfect Font for Your Calculus Queries

• Thread starter bobsmith76
  • Start date
In summary: I kept avoiding Latex, because learning it would have taken longer for me than just liberally using parentheses to write an equation on one line (we still had clackety typewriters when I was a student, and I still can't get used to doing math on a computer instead of with pencil and paper).If you click on the 'New Reply' button which appears at the top of the page you will find a more advanced input box.That tutorial is clear enough that I might be successful if I need it here, enough so to at least try.Thanks Redbelly!
bobsmith76
https://www.physicsforums.com/showpost.php?p=3742133&postcount=4

How do you find the font, so that you can make a post like the one above.

I've posted this in calculus and beyond because it concerns writing so that one can ask questions about calculus in the future.

Physics news on Phys.org
Redbelly98 said:
That thread has become pretty much outdated since it was posted 8 years ago, especially after the LaTeX upgrade of last spring. A more up-to-date tutorial can be found here:

https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=546968

That is MUCH more helpful than the old thread. Perhaps it's time to give the old thread the deep six. I kept avoiding Latex, because learning it would have taken longer for me than just liberally using parentheses to write an equation on one line (we still had clackety typewriters when I was a student, and I still can't get used to doing math on a computer instead of with pencil and paper). That tutorial is clear enough that I might be successful if I need it here, enough so to at least try.

Edited in accord with Redbelly's post#6

Thanks Redbelly

If you click on the 'New Reply' button which appears at the top of the page you will find a more advanced input box.

To the right is a list of common symbols you can insert with a click including an integral sign and some greek letters.