Project Euler 12: Highly divisible triangular number

In summary, the conversation discusses the problem of finding the first triangle number with over five hundred divisors and the approach of using sequences to find patterns in the divisors. However, the speaker has been unable to find any further patterns and asks for guidance in this approach. They have also used the knowledge that the nth triangle number is equal to n(n+1)/2 to prove a point in their analysis.
Nick O
After running into the dilemma of having nothing to do a little while ago, I decided to try working on a Project Euler problem with a mathematical approach. Not being a mathematician, I soon found myself in a rut.

The sequence of triangle numbers is generated by adding the natural numbers. So the 7th triangle number would be 1 + 2 + 3 + 4 + 5 + 6 + 7 = 28. The first ten terms would be:

1, 3, 6, 10, 15, 21, 28, 36, 45, 55, ...

Let us list the factors of the first seven triangle numbers:

1: 1
3: 1,3
6: 1,2,3,6
10: 1,2,5,10
15: 1,3,5,15
21: 1,3,7,21
28: 1,2,4,7,14,28

We can see that 28 is the first triangle number to have over five divisors.

What is the value of the first triangle number to have over five hundred divisors?

Now, what I have so far is this:

1. Let T(n) be the nth Triangle Number, n > 0.
  2. Define f(n) = n for all odd n.
  3. Define f(n) = n+1 for all even n.
  4. Define g(n) = floor([itex]\frac{n}{2}[/itex])+1 for all odd n.
  5. Define g(n) = [itex]\frac{n}{2}[/itex] for all even n.
  6. I have proven by induction that f(n) and g(n) are ALWAYS divisors of T(n).

I have therefore found two persistent sequences in the divisors of the Triangle Numbers. Naturally, all of the divisors of g(n) and f(n) are also divisors of T(n). If both g(n) and f(n) are less than sqrt(T(n)), then we can readily conclude that there are at least twice as many divisors of T(n) as there are of g(n) and f(n).