Optimizing Your 4 Layer PCB Stack-up for Maximum Performance: Tips and Tricks

• Thread starter j777
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Pcb
In summary: The spacing between the layers and the fact that everything is on one layer means that the signals will never exceed the Zo of the layer they are on.
j777
I'm designing my first SBC which will (hopefully) run Linux. The board will have the following:

Features:
AT91SAM9XE128 MCU at 180MHz (not in production yet but hopefully soon)
128MB SDRAM
128MB NAND Flash
16MB Serial DataFlash
10/100 Ethernet
33.6 Analog Modem (MultiTech SocketModem)
SD/MMC Slot
Battery Backed RTC

Power:
5VDC Input
1.8V MCU Core
3.3V Everything else

I'd like to design the board using 4 layers so I've been looking for a good 4 layer stack-up. The following stack-up has caught my attention (see figure 3b at http://www.hottconsultants.com/techtips/pcb-stack-up-2.html" ) :
1 - GND
2 - Sig/Pwr
3 - Sig/Pwr
4 - GND

While I'm not an EE expert there are a couple of things that seem to be real positive about this stack-up. For example:

• GND on the first layer provides a low inductance connection for decoupling capacitors and significantly reduces the number of vias.
  • Layout is somewhat easier because no space taken up by vias for GND connections.
  • Since I only have 2 supply voltages that have to be distributed around the baord and the 1.8V supply is only for MCU core it's easy to combine power with the signal layers.
  • As noted on the above listed website this stack-up performs well from an EMC standpoint.

I have 3 questions regarding this stack-up:

1. What are additional pros/cons/gotchas for this stack-up that I should know about?
2. How should the two GND planes be connected? Only stitched together around the edges of the board or connected elsewhere as well?
3. Am I correct in thinking that I should try to keep signals on one of the signal layers rather than switching between layers to provide good return current paths?

Thanks