Should I stay or should I go (from academia)?

• Thread starter ThePostDoc
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Academia
In summary: I think you need to assess the situation you're in, and decide what you want to do.I don't think you need to leave your postdoc job, but that doesn't mean you should keep doing it indefinitely. It's been a great 10 years, but you need to think about your long-term career goals and decide if this is the right job for you. It sounds like you've got some doubts, and that's a good thing. If you stay in your postdoc and have doubts about it in 5 or 10 years, you'll regret it.
ThePostDoc
Hello there,

I have a bit of a conundrum. I have been a postdoc for 10 years now, mainly because I loved my job so much. But its not a secure job and I wonder how much longer I can realistically do it, and taking the next step to a lectureship looks improbable due to fierce competition (and it was never where I intended to go - I meant to stay 3 or 4 years post PhD, but was just enjoying it so much I carried on), unless I move out of the UK permanently which is not for me due to family commitments.

Does anyone have experience of being a postdoc as a career? My case is perhaps a bit special because I work in particle physics (one of the major LHC experiments at CERN) and one would think there will always be a demand for people who know a lot more about its software for example, than a fresh grad student. So its not like I need to move institute every 2 or 3 years and start a new project. My conundrum is whether to carry on as a postdoc on the grounds (a) I love the job and (b) there is likely to be a long term demand because the experiments are scheduled to run for almost another 20 years currently in one form or another and (c) I do have an open-ended contract (though they made clear without any research grant, not being a faculty member would mean redundancy)