Solar energy heat energy light energy

In summary, a lens will magnify the light from a dot on the surface of the lens, so if you want to calculate the intensity of the light, you divide the surface of the lens by the surface of the dot.
WARGREYMONKKTL
solar energy heat energy light energy...

i am a student in high school. and i want to ask someone about the basics of
solar energy. i want to create a solar system that can heat up water. anyof you can give some advices/ equation/model/ for my idea.
is ther possible if a solar cells can run a motor? and is it possible that a solar energy can be gather to create a fusion reaction (if possible)?
can sombody give me the explanation for the following situation?
" i use a magnify glass to gather the sun light onto a paper. after a few minutes the paper burn up." how can magnifying glass do that?
some body can give me a system equation for the following situation?
" i let the sun ligh (concentrated) go through a transparent contaner which containing pure water. i notice that the temperature of the water is being raised up." i wonder why?
these question is really basics for all designer in here. can you give some informations about these "old stuff"?
thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
Could you start by saying what you think is happening here? We don't just answer homework questions for people here - we help students answer them themselves.

russ_watters said:
Could you start by saying what you think is happening here? We don't just answer homework questions for people here - we help students answer them themselves.

The energy we receive from the sun at mean Earth distance is called solar constant (SC) SC=1353 watt/M^2 that is 13,53 watt /dm^2. A lens makes a dot of the sun in mm^2. If you want to calculate the intensity of the light in the dot you need to divide the surface of the lens bij the surface of the dot. for example 2cm^2/(2mm^2) = 100.
The intensity of the sunlight on the lense is 13,53*2/100 is 0,27 watt.