Mathcad vs MATLAB vs Maple vs Mathematica

In summary, experts recommend Matlab, while novices prefer Maple. Mathematica is seen as having the best graphical capability and being the fastest numerical program available.
Entropia
What are the advantages and disadvantages of MATHCAD, MATLAB, maple and mathematica?

Which one do you use, and why?

Physics news on Phys.org
I like Matlab best and it has a student version for $50 that does everything most people need. The syntax is similar to C so if you know C it is easy to program. The documentation is not so good but I find Matlab easier to use than Mathcad. Most people learn it by modifying other peoples files.

Experts swear by Mathematica but novices swear at it. I am told it can do things that Matlab cannot but I have not yet discovered what that might be (twelve years use so far).

I have zero experience with maple but it is popular at some universities.

Having tried Maple and Mathcad, I much prefer maple. I found it easier to manipulate equations etc.

Originally posted by mmwave
I like Matlab best and it has a student version for $50 that does everything most people need. The syntax is similar to C so if you know C it is easy to program. The documentation is not so good but I find Matlab easier to use than Mathcad.

I'm a MatLab fan myself too. And mmwave says it just right. I tryed MathCad before that and I found it a bit difficult.
MatLab has a very good communications library and cool image processing functions.
I also heard good things about Maple...

I use Matlab almost exclusively for my assignments. It has enormous capabilities, and is very simple to figure out the basics.

The only other software package which you listed that I have seen was Maple. I didn't get very deep into it... the hyperstringent syntax requirements really put me off to it.

Matlab actually uses Maple as its 'Symbolic Toolbox.'