What is EOF in C Programming Language?

In summary, EOF is a constant defined as -1 in stdio.h and is used to indicate the end of a file when reading input. It is commonly used in conjunction with functions such as getchar() to check for the end of a file. When reading from a file, EOF will be returned when all the data has been read. When reading from the keyboard, a special key combination such as ctrl-Z or ctrl-D may need to be entered to trigger EOF.
physics kiddy
Can anyone please explain what is EOF in C programming language.

Is it a value (numeric, character) or something else ??

While reading the book "The C programming language", by Ritchie I came across this term. The code was :

#include <stdio.h>
/* copy input to output; 1st version */
main()
{
int c;
c = getchar();
while (c != EOF) {
putchar(c);
c = getchar();
}
}

Please, please explain. I am just a beginner in C programming language, not an expert. So please give an explanation I can understand ...

Technology news on Phys.org
physics kiddy said:

Is it a value (numeric, character) or something else ??

While reading the book "The C programming language", by Ritchie I came across this term. The code was :

#include <stdio.h>
/* copy input to output; 1st version */
main()
{
int c;
c = getchar();
while (c != EOF) {
putchar(c);
c = getchar();
}
}

Please, please explain. I am just a beginner in C programming language, not an expert. So please give an explanation I can understand ...

Hello physics kiddy and welcome to the forums.

EOF is short for end of file.

Think of a file handle as an object that represents something you can either read stuff from, write stuff to, or read and write stuff to.