Apostol 1.19 - Understanding where my logic went wrong (Sets, sup, inf)

In summary, the instructor feels like I don't understand the material and when she presented my explanation to a colleague, he too agreed with her. The problem is that I'm not sure what I need to re-word or what information I need to provide to make myself understood.
sendthis
Okay, so I'm struggling with understanding where I went wrong. The instructor feels like I don't understand the material and when she presented my explanation to a colleague, he too agreed with her.

I would really appreciate if someone could tell me the first part of where I went wrong in my logic. If not, what do I need to re-word or what information do I need to provide?

This is question 1.19 in Apostol. Feel free to be as ruthless as you want. I really do WANT to understand and therefore, if I need a reality check, then I'm willing to have my feelings hurt to pass the test. I'm a graduate engineering student that accidentally picked the wrong math class to fullfill my requirement. I have to admit, I do appreciate what the class is teaching but I am having a hard time at getting it..

19) Find the sup and inf of each of the following sets of real numbers.
c) S = {x: (x-a)(x-b)(x-c)(x-d) < 0} where a < b < c < d

I proved that
x > a
x < d

Therefore, I stated since :

The set is bounded above by d, then sup(S) = d (no upperbound greater than d).
The set is bounded below by a, then inf(S) = a (no lowerbound point less than a).

This was accepted by my professor (so I'm aiming that you can accept this without me uploading my proof).

She then asked, "What about a < x < b".

I said that it was irrelevant because for all x, no matter what a, b, c, d (so long as they meet the given problem statement), the set is bounded above and below.

I also said that because any value between a < x < b cannot exist, it is not in the set, so it doesn't matter anyway (by definition of the problem statement).