What is meant by "2-pole", "3-pole" or a "4pole" motor?

• Thread starter scothoward
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Motor
In summary: Hope this helps, in summary, a 3-pole motor has three windings on the armature that excite in sequence to make the motor turn, while a 4-pole motor has two windings and a sextupole has six.
scothoward
Motor "Poles"

Hi, I am currently studying induction motors and I am little confused about 1 concept. I know it is probably a really basic question.

Engineering news on Phys.org
scothoward said:
Hi, I am currently studying induction motors and I am little confused about 1 concept. I know it is probably a really basic question.

3-pole?

A magnet as 2 poles, so a 2-pole motor is like a magnet spinning on a shaft perpendicular to the poles. A 4-pole motor is like 2 magnets

That was my guess but I got confused when I saw this article:

http://electronics.howstuffworks.com/motor6.htm

"Almost always, however, the rotor will have three poles rather than the two poles"

A motor with three poles would have three windings in which you would excite the winding in a sequence to get the motor to turn. I am not sure what the best analogy to use is but a stepper motor would be a good chose in my mind. The armature is made up of teeth and depending on which winding in energized is where the teeth line up to. Successively energizing the motor windings will line up the teeth progressively with the windings causing the rotor to turn. It is more complicated with induction motors but essentially you are inducing a current into the armature which will constantly oppose or attract (I can’t specifically remember which) the action of the energized winding or "pole" and will be virtually the same thing.

scothoward said:
That was my guess but I got confused when I saw this article:

http://electronics.howstuffworks.com/motor6.htm

"Almost always, however, the rotor will have three poles rather than the two poles"