What kind of scientific calculator should I buy?

In summary: Any scientific calculator will suffice for your needs, as you will mainly be using trig, roots, and ln() even in graduate school. For more complex functions, you can always use a computer. However, if you want a specific recommendation, the HP50 is slightly more efficient than the Texas Ti89, but the Ti89 is better at drawing graph functions. Ultimately, either calculator will work well for your needs.
danielandpenn
Hi. I was wondering if anyone would share with me some insight about what calculator I should purchase? I'm a returning student in the fall, majoring in physics with engineering option. It's been so long since I've been in school though that I may end up having to take a trig/algebra II class and pre-calculus before even getting to calculus. So, I may need something for trig/alg, pre-calc, calc, physics and engineering. Thanks for your advice.

Computer science news on Phys.org
Three answers:
1, Any scientific calculator will do, you only need trig, roots and ln() even for grad school - anything else use a computer
2, Get an HP50 cos a Texas Ti89 is 0.1% less efficient at some function you have never heard of
3, Get an Texas Ti89 cos a HP50 is 0.1% slower at drawing graph function you will never use.

mgb_phys said:
Three answers:
1, Any scientific calculator will do, you only need trig, roots and ln() even for grad school - anything else use a computer
2, Get an HP50 cos a Texas Ti89 is 0.1% less efficient at some function you have never heard of
3, Get an Texas Ti89 cos a HP50 is 0.1% slower at drawing graph function you will never use.

Pretty much spot on.

1. What are the essential features to look for in a scientific calculator?