Analog signal output from computer

In summary, the electrical engineering tech student is looking for help in interfacing a gauge cluster from a car with a computer to play a racing game. They don't care about the range or magnitude of voltage or current, but they would like to be able to output multiple linear DC voltage signals.
bmcguire88
Hello all,

I'm an electrical engineering tech student working on a little side project and I can't find anything to help me with a crucial part.

I have a gauge cluster out of an automobile that I want to interface with a computer to used while playing a racing game. I have a computer programmer friend and we have been able to extract the data from the game (speed, tach, boost, etc). I have the gauge cluster set up ready to go, and all I need to is output these signals from the computer to some usable DC voltage signals that I can wire into my gauge cluster. I don't care about the range or magnitude of voltage or current, as I can take care of all of this with op amps etc.

I just need to be able to output multiple linear DC voltage signals. I'm assuming some sort of digital to analog conversion has to take place. Also, what can I communicate this through? Is USB a possibility?

If this could be in any way similar to an analog output on a PLC that would be ideal...like 0 - 32768 represents a voltage scale range output of 0-10v (or something to that effect).

Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
The easiest thing would be to buy a cheap(ish) USB DAQ; you can buy one from e.g. National Instruments (although there are cheaper options).