Funding Your Physics PhD: How Much Does It Cost?

In summary, you can only be awarded such a title, that is what he means.Physics graduate students in the USA usually also work for their university as teaching assistants or research assistants. The university pays them enough to cover tuition and fees, and live a minimal lifestyle. When I was a graduate student thirty years ago, I shared an apartment with another grad student, did not own a car, and did not have an expensive social life. That left me enough money to buy a few records every month, travel to visit my parents a few times a year, and even visit Europe a couple of times.
Robert Mak
How much money do you have to spend doing a Phd (physics)?

Physics news on Phys.org
$0.000 You don't pay to get a PhD.

cyrusabdollahi said:
$0.000 You don't pay to get a PhD.
Please can you explain me.

Robert Mak said:
Please can you explain me.
You can only be awarded such a title, that is what he means.

Physics graduate students in the USA usually also work for their university as teaching assistants or research assistants. The university pays them enough to cover tuition and fees, and live a minimal lifestyle. When I was a graduate student thirty years ago, I shared an apartment with another grad student, did not own a car, and did not have an expensive social life. That left me enough money to buy a few records every month, travel to visit my parents a few times a year, and even visit Europe a couple of times.

Robert Mak said:
How much money do you have to spend doing a Phd (physics)?