I really hate the rigor in math

• Thread starter eljose
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses the role of rigor in mathematics and physics, with one participant arguing that it is essential while the other argues that it can hinder progress. Examples of famous mathematicians, such as Euler and Ramanujan, who were criticized for their lack of rigor but made significant contributions, are mentioned. The conversation also touches on the importance of intuition and abstract thinking in mathematics, and the different ways in which minds can approach mathematical concepts. Ultimately, the importance of both rigor and intuition in mathematics is acknowledged, but it is important to understand when one should take precedence over the other.
eljose
I know this is an old topic discused someway in my post before..but i would like to open a general topic about this subject..as a physicist i really hate rigor in math...perhaps the most important think is that your results make sense or can be tested empirically or provide solutions to your problems, rigor is killing science because you can write a very good an revolutionary article but if the "rigorous" referees don,t agree with your results because they lack on rigor, they put your article down...of course i am not a math genious but..what would have happened if it was applied to Euler and Ramanujan?..i have cited two examples of math geniouses critizied by their lack of rigour but that made really astonishing contributions to math and physics...rigour should not be so important..of course i admit that an article nowadays needs to be written on english to be accesible to every scientist in the world but i think that whereas is clear and math are correct it should be publishable...

"They prefer to have a beatiful building..rather than having something valuable inside it"..Quote by J.B.J Fourier, mathematician and physicist developer of Heat equation and Fourier series.

Last edited:
Mathematics news on Phys.org