HDMI cable wiring schematic (what colors go where)

In summary, the standard colors used in HDMI cable wiring schematic are red, green, blue, white, and black. The red, green, and blue wires are for transmitting the primary colors of the video signal, while the white and black wires are for the audio signal. The specific positions of these wires may vary depending on the type of HDMI cable. The wires also have the purpose of transferring data between devices and carrying power to HDMI-enabled devices. It is important to follow the standard color coding for HDMI cables to ensure proper functionality, as using different colors may result in incorrect signal transmission and device damage. Additionally, the wires should be connected in a specific order, which may vary depending on the type of HDMI cable, but should follow the wiring
jaybird81
Hi, I was hoping somone on this forum could help me out. I am not an engineer (although I wish I was). I am just DBA that is dealing with a wiring nightmare. My boss bought an HDMI to VGA cable from some guy on line for hooking up a laptop to a TV. The cable comes in and of course is no good, the HDMI connector basically fell apart when I plugged it in. So I am going to try and make it work, by sodering the cables to the conector. My problem is I don't know which color goes where on the actual HDMI connector. There are 8 wires (Black, Blue, Red, Brown, White, Pink, Dark Green and Light Green). Does anyone have a diagram or a schematic so I can try and fix it.

Engineering news on Phys.org
I'd be surprised if it works. It seems that HDMI has only digital data lines whereas vga has almost only analog ones. If there is no logic circuit in between you have probably been scammed. Cable colors can vary from manufacturer to manufacturer... and the pinning can be found online, but unless your graphics card does some very funny things it will not work.

jaybird81 said: