Something i noticed and would like explained.

• Thread starter .....
  • Start date
In summary: The volume of fluid will be [tex]\pi r^2 d[/tex] where d is the distance the marble is falling. The two equations cancel out the [tex]\pi[/tex] term and it turns out that the velocity is proportional to d. If you double the distance the marble drops, you double the velocity that the fluid has to move at the choke point. So, if you half the diameter of the tube, you double the velocity. And it's this higher velocity that will increase the viscous drag. So, you could measure the time it takes the marble to drop a certain distance and use this to estimate the viscosity of the fluid. In summary, Viscosity is the main factor in determining
first of all, hi. :biggrin: I am new here, I am a high school student, love my physics.

anyway, i came across this when i was doing an experiment for school...it doesn't really relate to my experiment but i found it interesting and i'd like to know why it happens.

I dropped a marble through a cylindrical container of water, of radius approx. 5cm, and as expected it fell reasonably quickly, though some resistance was noted.

I repeated this with a container of radius approx 2cm, and i noticed it took significantly longer for the marble to reach the bottom.

can anyone explain why this is to me? All i could think of was the gravitational attraction between the two masses, but i would've thought it would be too small to have such a significant effect...

if anyone can tell me why this happens i'd appreciate it.

also, what qualifications/degrees/etc do you guys have and how long have you studied for? I'm quite good in science & math compared with other students at my level, but I'm utterly baffled by the majority of the questions posted on this board :frown: just wondering what I am in for if i want to be at that level some day

Physics news on Phys.org