High School Student Seeking Path to Astrophysics Career

In summary, the individual is a high school student from Italy who is currently exploring their career options. They are interested in becoming an astrophysicist or a theoretical physicist and are seeking advice on how to pursue these fields. They plan on obtaining an undergraduate degree in physics and then pursuing a PhD in Astrophysics. They are also looking for recommendations for universities with strong physics departments and research opportunities. The speaker advises them to keep an open mind and take advantage of any research opportunities that come their way in order to gain a better understanding of their interests and the field of physics. They also suggest considering a university with a large physics department and keeping in mind that their career goals may change as they learn more about the field.
edo1493
Hi guys, I am an high school student from italy and I am a junior.
I am looking for my path carrer, which is very difficult to find. I would like to be an astrophysicist, but on the other hand I am really interested in theoretical physics. I wonder which the difference between an astrophysics and a theoretical physicist is..?
The other problem is how to keep going this goal. I was thinking to get an undergraduate course in physics ( with theoretical physics) and then a phd in Astrophysics..what do you think about?

I am seeking for good universities around the world. I will probably apply for MIT and caltech, but I know that I don't have any chances :P. Likewise I think that I could get admitted at Imperial College in London... Which universities do you suggest me?

Thanks for your advices!:wink:

Physics news on Phys.org
any advices?