Simple (?) question: Effect of mass when placing vs dropping object on spring

In summary, the conversation discusses the behavior of springs as a simple model for compressible materials. The formula for calculating displacement (x) is x = y/k, where y is the load placed on the spring and k is the spring constant. However, when the load is instead dropped or fired onto the spring as a projectile, the formula becomes more complicated and the proportionality between x and y or 1/k is no longer direct. The difference in proportionality is due to the form of energy stored in the spring, which includes both potential and kinetic energy. The cause of impact velocity is irrelevant in determining the displacement of the spring.
superalias
This is my first post and I'm still a wee physics newbie, though I've learned much from these great forums in the past.

I'm looking into the degree of deformation of compressible materials (say, foam, ground, etc.) subjected to force. It's my understanding that I can use the behavior of springs as a simple model, but there's one thing puzzling me about springs right now.

Say I have a spring mounted on the floor, with spring constant k, and no net forces on the spring. Let's assume that Hooke's Law (extension/compression of spring is in direct proportion to load on spring) applies throughout any examples, and there is no plastic deformation of the spring that changes its properties.

I place a load of y Newtons atop the spring. It's my understanding that the distance by which the spring compresses – its displacement (x) – will be as follows: x = y/k.

In other words, displacement is directly proportional to the mass placed on the spring. Double the mass, and displacement doubles.

Displacement is also directly proportional to 1/k. Double k, and displacement halves.

Assuming I have that right, here's the puzzler: