Characteristic X-Rays and Energy Bands in Solids

In summary, the conversation discusses the production of x-rays in radiography and how it is described in terms of Bremsstrahlung and Characteristic x-ray production mechanisms. The simplified explanation of characteristic x-rays based on the Bohr model of the atom is applicable only to isolated target atoms and not to solid metals. The peaks in the x-ray spectrum are not monoenergetic but have a finite width due to band effects and selection rules. The presence of a crystal environment can also affect the core energy levels. Some references are suggested for further reading on these topics.
Alexander83
Hi there,
I'm an instructor teaching a Physics course for Radiography students designed for students with little to no Physics background. In prepping the course, I've come up with a couple of questions that are bothering me and hope someone here can be of assistance.

My questions pertain to x-ray production in radiography which is generally accomplished by firing beams of electrons at a metal target, generally made of Tungsten or an alloy of Tungsten. The resulting spectrum of x-rays is then described in terms of Bremsstrahlung and Characteristic x-ray production mechanisms.

Any Radiography Physics texts I've come across describe Characteristic x-ray production by invoking essentially the Bohr model of the atom, wherein x-rays are produced by an electron in a higher shell dropping down to a lower shell in the atom. It is claimed that this model explains why characteristic x-rays show discrete emission lines in the spectrum, with energies defined by the differences in the electron binding energy between the shells.