What Physics C textbook is easiest to self-study?

In summary, the speaker is a student looking to self-study AP Physics C since it is not offered at their school. They have already taken and excelled in Physics B and Calculus AB/BC exams, and are currently taking Calculus 3 at a nearby college. They are looking for recommendations on a textbook for calculus-based physics and the speaker suggests Halliday & Resnick as a reliable option. They also mention the high price of textbooks and suggest looking for older versions or buying used books. Others in the conversation confirm the quality of Halliday & Resnick and share tips for finding cheaper alternatives. Ultimately, it is noted that an older version of the textbook would still be suitable for self-study purposes.
Farzan
Hello,

I am a student interested in learning AP Physics C material on my own because the class is not offered at my school.

My goals are
- 5 on the AP Physics C exam(s)
- Know calculus-based physics to compete in Science Olympiad

I have taken the Physics B exam and Calc AB/BC exams (5 on all of them), and I'm also taking Calculus 3 from a nearby college.

I would think a textbook on calculus based physics would be the best way to learn it. What would you recommend?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't think you can ever go wrong with Halliday & Resnick.

I don't think you can ever go wrong with Halliday & Resnick.

That's the book my physics teacher gave me to use when I asked him if I could try for physics C, and he knows his stuff.

maphco said:
That's the book my physics teacher gave me to use when I asked him if I could try for physics C, and he knows his stuff.

It really is a good book, although quite expensive. But, it may be possible to find an older version for less. Also, Serway (Physics for Scientists & Engineers) seems pretty nice too.

It really is a good book, although quite expensive.
Yah, he said that for the school to order it that it'd be about $140 - $150