Creating a timer that performs an action

• Thread starter dunar21
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Timer
In summary, you have an IR sensor that detects when objects pass by, and you want to create a circuit that will activate a motor after a certain number of objects have been detected. You need a microcontroller to count the objects and send the appropriate output signals. There are many microcontroller options, but you'll need to research which one will work with the circuit you've linked.
dunar21
Hello, I am not even a novice at electrical engineering. I am a web designer and a programmer (Actionscript 3.0 and PHP - also MySQL for my websites' databases-). Anyway, I am attempting to create a series of circuits that count items moving on a conveyor belt with an IR sensor, and runs a motor in one direction after a certain count and then in the opposite direction after a repeat of that count. So, say for every five items, once the fifth item breaks the IR connection and sends the fifth pulse to the counter, I need the counter to run a motor in one direction(and to switch directions after every 5th count) and begin counting the next item as number 1. I have an IR circuit that sends pulses to this counting circuit kit I bought at an electronics store: http://www.kitsrus.com/pdf/k129.pdf (This kit uses the IC described on the datasheet at http://www.atmel.com/dyn/resources/prod_documents/doc0838.pdf). How would I arrange the circuit to run a motor (about 9V to the motor) after every 5 counts. I would need it to start the next count at 1 instead of using a count to reset and then the following count set to 1. So, as the 5th count runs the motor that same connection would have to reset the clock instead of the 6th count resetting it. It would be nice to have a switch that allows me to switch between a 5 or a 6 count, but once I see how to do one, it shouldn't be that difficult to make a switch that runs a similar process at a different count. Any help or advice would be grea