Theories based on intuition: calculus telling us and us telling calculus

In summary, the conversation discusses the difference between garbage theories and real theories in physics, which is the presence of mathematical support. The individual is a college student studying electrical engineering and particle physics and has been watching documentaries and videos to understand theories like the standard model and string theory. They have also developed their own ideas but are unsure of their credibility without mathematical support. The conversation concludes with the suggestion to focus on understanding the mathematics behind current theories and how mathematics can reveal how the universe works.
taylaron
Gold Member
Greetings.

For your information, I am an undergraduate college student studying electrical engineering and also intend to get a degree in particle physics. At this point in time I am only beginning to learn calculus.

For the past several years I’ve been watching television documentaries like NOVA's 'The Elegant Universe' with Brian Greene and (*select episodes of) Morgan Freeman's 'Down the Wormhole'. As well as watching physics-related educational videos on YouTube. I watch these because right now the basic conceptualizations they provide are as close as I get to understanding the fundamental mathematics of theories like today’s standard model and string theory.

What this post is about regards the recommended basis for forming general theories of how the universe works. In this case, the basis I am using is limited to my simple perspectives on current proposed theories described by the above sources.

During the past several years of watching the above documentaries, my mind has been pondering the most basic mechanics of how the universe may function at the most fundamental level. Pondering these concepts has resulted in some of my own propositions of how the universe might function.