Sleep deprivation and circadian rythms

• Thread starter oldunion
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Sleep
In summary: My mood had plummeted and I felt barely able to keep my eyes open. This is not normal for me at all.In summary, after a recent all nighter, I felt focused and sharp when I woke up, but my mood plummeted by the end of the day.
oldunion
I notice distinctly apparent changes in myself under sleep deprivation: cognitive skills increased, mood increased, focus is typically good and distraction is no longer a powerful nemesis.

My first experiments involved a period of no sleep for approximately 5 days during which i took some interestingly creative yet mostly incohesive notes. At current i am a college student and i have time spread throughout the day to do as i please.

I wish that i could never sleep but i am a realist. I've learned that a typical circaidan rythm, ie when people will most likely be tired, is from 2-6 am and pm. Whilst not sleeping at all, i have noticed a severe onrush of fatigure around 6pm and also one around 9-11 am.

What i am looking for is the optimal schedule which would yield the least amount of sleep possible to still be fully functional. I recall Einstein took naps frequently but did not sleep through the night?

some input would be appreciated.

Biology news on Phys.org
Your first and second paragraph contradict each other. You might want to rethink this idea of depriving yourself of sleep.

A circadian rhythm is any rhythm of approximately 24 h in length that continues to exist in the absence of any external time cues (zeitgebers). Humans are diurnal in their activities (active during the daylight hours), and sleep coincides with hours of darkness, when melatonin synthesis and release is highest. There can also be some other periods of tiredness/sleepiness during the day after meals (known as post-prandial fatigue).