Understanding the Exact Differential Notation in Multivariable Calculus

In summary, the conversation is about the notation used in the topic of exact differentials, specifically the notation (dA/dx)_y = (dB/dy)_x. The conversation clarifies that the x and y represent the variables with respect to which the partial derivatives are being taken. The notation (dA/dx)_y means the partial derivative of A with respect to x, while holding y constant.
GoldPheonix
I'm studying calculus III topics on my own, but I've seen this notation prop up a lot. Could you tell me what it means?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Exact_differential

The notation on this page, it has this notation:

[tex]( \frac{dA}{dx} )_y = ( \frac{dB}{dy} )_x[/tex]

What do the x's and y's mean as subscript of the parenthesis? Just plug in the y value at that point into that derivative's equation?

Physics news on Phys.org
That's a common way of denoting a partial derivative--in other words, if F is a function, then Fx is the partial derivative of F with respect to x.

But it's already taking the partial derivative with respect to x, and in the other, y. What's up with that?

OH, sorry, actually in that case I think the notation [tex]\left( \frac{\partial A}{\partial y} \right)_{x}[/tex] means "the partial derivative of A with respect to y, holding x constant." See the last example under "Notation" here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Partial_differential#Notation

Thank you.

1. What is multivariable calculus?

Multivariable calculus, also known as multivariate calculus, is a branch of mathematics that deals with functions of more than one variable. It extends the concepts of single-variable calculus to functions with multiple inputs, also known as multivariate functions.

2. What are the applications of multivariable calculus?