A timer Interrupt to cause delay

In summary, the conversation was about using timer interrupts in a program to cause a delay in displaying binary numbers. The code provided was for a specific microcontroller, and there was confusion about the purpose and implementation of interrupts in the context of operating systems. There was also a question about the functionality of the provided interrupt handler.
Mathslova
I am new to interrupts, so i have made a simple program using a timer interrupt to cause a delay of about 1 sec in displaying the binary numbers. However I have failed to achieve this.

Anyone knows the problem with my program?

any assitance will be highly appreciated.

#include <p24FJ128GA010.h>

_CONFIG2( FNOSC_FRCPLL & OSCIOFNC_OFF ); // Internal oscillator - 4xPLL giving 16 MIPS
// pin RC15 has the oscillator

int main()
{
//Configure the device to use the internal oscillator
OSCCONbits.COSC = 1u; // Internal oscillator with PLL
CLKDIVbits.RCDIV = 0u; //Internal oscillator not divided (8MHz)
CLKDIVbits.DOZEN =0; //No post scaling
CLKDIVbits.DOZE =0; //

//Set the LSB of port A to be outputs
TRISA = 0xFF00;

//TIMER1 Configuration Register
T1CON = 0;
T1CONbits.TCKPS = 0b11; //Prescale = 256
T1CONbits.TON = 1; //Timer on
TMR1 = 0; //Timer = 0

//Configure TIMER1 interrupt
_T1IP = 4; //Interrupt priority = 4
PR1 = 62500-1; //Period Register

_T1IF = 0; //Clear timer interrupt flag
_T1IE = 1; //Switch on timer 1 interrupt enable

TMR1 = 0;

while(1)
{
Idle();
asm("nop");
PORTA = 0b11111111;
PORTA = 0b00000000;

}//end while loop

}//end main loop

//TIMER1 Interrupt
void __attribute__((interrupt, no_auto_psv)) _T1Interrupt()
{

_T1IF = 0; //Clear interrrupt flag before returning
}

Technology news on Phys.org