Assigning Oxidation States: Rules & Lewis Structures

In summary, there are two main methods for assigning oxidation states in compounds - drawing Lewis structures and following specific rules. However, as a beginner in chemistry, these methods may not always work for all compounds. As you advance in chemistry, you will learn more rules and methods for assigning oxidation numbers. Some additional methods include using half-reaction equations, knowledge of common elements and their oxidation states, and using a periodic table. Certain elements also have characteristic oxidation states that can be used as a guideline. With these methods, you should be able to assign oxidation numbers to most compounds.
Omid
The book I'm reading, has suggested to methods for assigninig the oxidation statetes in a compound. The first method includes drawing the Lwis structure of the compound. And the second one is based on some rules.
As I'm a beginner in chemsitry there are so many compounds which I can't draw it's Lwis structure. So the first method doesn't work always (for me as a biginner). And in the list of the rules there is no rule for so many situations. For example for these compounds I don't know what to do:
AlCl(3),
ICl,
MgSO(4)
I want to know what will happen. Will I find some more rules as I advance in chemistry?

Physics news on Phys.org