Finding Internships at Science Labs for San Diego HS Student

In summary, the speaker is a high school student from San Diego who is interested in interning at a science lab to gain a better understanding of the field and potentially decide on a career path. They mention wanting to attend a center focused on Artificial Intelligence and ask for suggestions and advice. Another speaker suggests checking with UCSD and other institutions for summer programs and recommends checking the National Science Foundation and LBL's websites for information. The conversation ends with the student expressing regret for missing application deadlines and asking about a potential program at Berkeley.
Euphoriet
I'm not really sure if anyone would be able to help me here... but I really want to try to get an internship working at some type of science lab.

Ok.. so basically I'm a high school student in San Diego.

Now, I know you maybe wondering why a HS student want an "internship" at a lab.. what contribution could I possibly make... Well to tell you the truth I want to get a feel of what people who go into these fields actually do.

I mean in high school we may learn a lot about these subjects if we commit ourselves to it... but I really doubt its anything like the actual work at the lab.

I don't know I'm just not really decided on what I want to do in life yet and I think this would be of great help.. it would either really encourage to pursue this or.. totally make me take another path.

I just wish there was a center around here that focused on Articial Intelligence that I could somehow attend and learn at.

I hope you guys understand.. and if you can provide me with any help that would be great.. also I'm not really sure what's possible and what isnt'..if you could tell me what's farfetched .. that would be cool too.. thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org