Virginia Tech: Experiences of a Real Student in Egypt

• Thread starter abdo375
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Student
In summary, Virginia Tech is known as a top engineering school in the United States, with a strong reputation and well-funded research projects. However, it is located in a small town and has cold winters. The cost of their Master's program may be significantly higher compared to other programs in Egypt, but it is highly recognized in the US job market. Its reputation in the Egyptian job market is uncertain.
abdo375
I wanted to know what you think about virginia tech, I live in egypt and my college is offering a master's from there and I'm strongly considering it.
so if someone has been there can you please tell me how is it.

Physics news on Phys.org
I have no personal experience with virginia tech, but from what I hear it is a very good engineering school. I don't know more than that.

I attended Virginia Tech for my undergraduate degree (BSEE). It is one of the best schools in the country, with an engineering program consistently in the top 15 or so. There are an enormous variety of well-funded research projects there, and VT continues to develop into one of the premier research institutions in the world.

The only drawbacks, in my opinion, are: (1) The town, Blacksburg, is very small, and rather far from any big cities. If you like big-city life, you will not enjoy Blacksburg. It's a neat experience to live in a town almost completely composed of college students, but I found myself wanting more culture experiences than such a small town could offer. (2) The weather can be quite cold there in winter. Normal snowfall is probably in the range of 2-6 feet per year, usually in three or four storms throughout the winter. I'm not exactly a winter person, and found it to be a bit cold for my liking.

- Warren