Giving my first academic talk - suggestions?

In summary, always check your written materials carefully to make sure that they are accurate before you begin your talk.
EricVT
Giving my first academic "talk" -- suggestions?

This Wednesday I'm going to be giving my first academic talk to the nuclear group here at my University. The nuclear faculty, postdocs, and graduate students will be in attendance and I'm expected to give a presentation over my current research: motivation, goals, established results and future.

I'm just an undergraduate and to be giving a presentation like this to a group of professional nuclear physicists is rather nerve wracking I must say. What are some things that I should keep in mind or any tips that you have for me?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
EricVT said:
This Wednesday I'm going to be giving my first academic talk to the nuclear group here at my University. The nuclear faculty, postdocs, and graduate students will be in attendance and I'm expected to give a presentation over my current research: motivation, goals, established results and future.

I'm just an undergraduate and to be giving a presentation like this to a group of professional nuclear physicists is rather nerve wracking I must say. What are some things that I should keep in mind or any tips that you have for me?

Thanks.

1. Have you given a practice talk in front of your supervisor and other members of your group? If you haven't, that is always a good thing to do and get their feedback and criticism.