Comparing Electrons & Quarks: Mass, Charge & Size

In summary: PDG.Hi, thanks for the replies.In summary, the electron is considered a point particle in quantum mechanics and its radius is not accurately known due to experimental limitations. The electron also has a much smaller mass and size compared to a proton or a quark. The mass of a quark is difficult to measure and appears as a parameter in theoretical models, with its value being dependent on the chosen renormalization scheme.
sidmontu
Hi,

I am currently a student, still grasping some basic concepts of quantum mechanics. I've been reading some books, and the model on quarks intrigue me. There's something I'll like to clarify though.

Mass

Up Quark - 1.5 to 3.3 MeV/c2
Down Quark - 3.5 to 6.0 MeV/c2
Electron - 0.511 MeV/c2

Electron radius - 2.8179 x 10^-15 (classical radius)
Quark radius - unknown
Proton radius - 1.0 x 10^-15 (3 times smaller than an electron)
Hence, quark radius must be smaller than an electron's radius.
-----------------------

So electrons have a charge that is 3 times stronger than a down quark, have a radius that is at least 6 times bigger than a down quark, yet they weigh about 6 to 12 times less than a down quark.

1) Am I right in saying that? Or did I get some values wrong? Because it seems quite absurd to me the way an electron's mass, size and charge compare to a down quark.

2) Also, why are there differing masses of each quark (e.g. 1.5 to 3.3 MeV/c2) whereas electrons have a fixed known mass value of 0.511 MeV/c2? Is this due to experimentation error due to the difficulty of measuring the mass of a quark?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
The "classical radius" of the electron is just a dimensional construct and has nothing to do with the radius of the electron (although some classical physicists may have thought it did). As far as it can be measured, and in current theory, the electron is a point particle.