Choosing a Research Project: Balancing Enjoyment and Professionalism

In summary: There is no way for you to know exactly what kind of research you will be doing later. Even you end up in exactly the field you are interested in right now, what project you work on will depend on what your supervisors is interested in and -more importantly- has funding for. Graduate student have -generally speaking- not that much control over what they end up doing.Also, I think you are underestimating the time it takes to do original research; even when you are up to speed in a particular field (which takes 2-3 years of full time work) it still takes about a year or so to do something that is worth publishing (one article as a first author+a couple of conference paper derived from that work is
Void123
I am an undergraduate in physics and I am getting myself prepared for some research. I am taking a class which essentially gives me academic credit for a supervised research project I do under a faculty member. However, the choice of my research varies with contingent factors involved. For instance, my professor told me that I should really work on something I enjoy (like black holes, which involves general relativity), more than something that I can turn into serious published work (like globular clusters, which I could probably make better progress in). However, it is really important to me to also build an important academic profile and I think it would look good if I can work on a project that would evolve into professional research by the time I graduate.

Not to say that if I did something on black holes now, I would have to abandon it as soon as I got a grade for the course.

But what should I do?

Any advice?

Physics news on Phys.org