Can mass be created or destroyed?

• Thread starter physicsnewbie
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mass
To create matter, you can use a particle accelerator to smash two high energy particles together. The energy from the particles will convert into mass, creating new particles from the energy. To destroy matter, you can use the same principle in reverse. You can smash two particles together at high energies, and the mass of the particles will convert into energy, releasing it in the form of photons or other particles. Other ways of creating/destroying matter include nuclear reactions, where the nuclei of atoms split or fuse to create new elements, and pair production/annihilation, which involves the creation and destruction of matter-antimatter pairs. Overall, matter can be created or destroyed in various ways, but the total
physicsnewbie
Sorry, I'm just a physics newbie.

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, the simple answer is matter cannot be created or destroyed.

The more complicated answer is that in some nuclear reactions particles can be converted into energy ( like in a hydrogen bomb). If that happened to your atoms you would said they were destroyed. If you consider the familiar equation E=mc2 it means there is an equivalence between matter and energy.

I'm sure someone else will give us a more complicated answer.:smile:

Likes kena
mmwave: You mean yes, matter can be created or destroyed, right?

Other examples: matter-antimatter annihilation, pair production by energetic photon...

Correction: mass in the conventional sense can be destroyed, but mass/energy is conserved.

Last edited: