Recommendations of good books

• Thread starter QuantumDefect
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Books
In summary: I would recommend "The second Creation" by Crease and Mann. It is an excellent book that covers the history of QED, QCD, and other theories in a concise and easy-to-read way.
QuantumDefect
Hello everyone, I wanted to ask you if you could recommend some, in your mind, excellent books( That every physicist would want) of the Quantum side of the universe. As I am still an undergrad, I still am unclear about how QED, QCD, ect fit into the Quantum Universe. I would also like them to have a little history of each theory. IF I am unclear, please say so and I will try to elaborate more. Again, thanks for your replies. :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
QuantumDefect said:
Hello everyone, I wanted to ask you if you could recommend some, in your mind, excellent books( That every physicist would want) of the Quantum side of the universe. As I am still an undergrad, I still am unclear about how QED, QCD, ect fit into the Quantum Universe. I would also like them to have a little history of each theory. IF I am unclear, please say so and I will try to elaborate more. Again, thanks for your replies. :smile:

As first introductions to field theory, I think Griffith's Introduction to Elementary Particle and Aitchison and Hey's Gauge Theories in Particle Physics are the best. As an historical account, my all-time favorite is "The second Creation" by Crease and Mann.

Regards,

Pat

Thank you! I will look into them

QuantumDefect said:
Thank you! I will look into them

You're very welcome. Those are really the best starting points, imho.

As next steps after these books, I would suggest "Quarks and leptons" by Halzen and Martin, "Gauge Theories of the Strong, Weak, and Electromagnetic Interactions" by Chris Quigg as well as "Relativiistic Quantum Mechanics and Field Theory" by Gross.

And any book by Greiner is highly recommended (QCD, QED, etc etc).