Trying to learn linear algebra on my own

In summary, Waddup everyone seems to be trying to learn linear algebra on their own. They are a freshman and blah blah, who really cares. They are now to the math. Prove that if (v1,v2,v3) span V, then (v1+2v2, v2-v3, v3) also span V. Prove that if (v1,v2,v3) is linearly independent, then (v1+2v2, v2-v3, v3) is also linearly independent. Let P(|F) be the space of polynomials with coefficients in |F. Find two different subspaces of P
InbredDummy
Waddup everyone

I'm trying to learn linear algebra on my own. I'm a freshman, blah blah, who really cares, now to the math :)

1) Prove that if (v1,v2,v3) span V, then (v1 + 2v2, v2 - v3, v3) also span V

2)Prove that if (v1,v2,v3) is linearly independent, then (v1 + 2v2, v2 - v3, v3) is also linearly independent

3) let P(|F) be the space of polynomials with coefficients in |F
(i) Find two different subspaces of P(|F)
(ii) Find an infinite dimensional proper subspace of P(|F)

4) Let U,V be subspaces of F^7, such that U and the direct sum of V = F^7. if dim U=3, show that dim V=4.
(ii) does this remain true if all we know is that U+V=F^7 ?

i'm new at this, I've been reading the textbooks and what have you, but I'm not seeing the answers.

thx

Physics news on Phys.org
From what I've seen on most of the homework posts...people usually want you to show what work you've done already..

im really stuck. i posted to see how more seasoned students would handle the problems and hopefully i can build from there.

You see, one of the things you need to realize is that 'seeing the answer' isn't how you get the answer. You have to write things down, puzzle over them for a while, check you understand the definitions and so on. Write out the definition of 'span' and try to figure out how to do 1) for yourself. If you know the definition of span and are happy with it then the answer will suddenly drop out.