Can anyone help with cylindrical polar coords?

In summary, the conversation discusses the process of deriving cylindrical polar coordinates from Cartesian coordinates. The individual mentions drawing a diagram and using trigonometric functions to find the relationships between the coordinates, and doubts the existence of a more fundamental method. They suggest constructing a matrix of partial derivatives and inverting it as an alternative approach.
kala

Homework Statement

This is a question in my classical mechanics book, and i am not very good with polar coordinates. I am suppose to fine r, phi, z in terms of x,y,z.
Basically I need to derive the cylindrical polar coordinates from the Cartesian coordinates.
The question specifically asks Find expressions for the unit vectors r,phi,z of cylindrical polar coordinates in terms of the Cartesian coordinates.

The Attempt at a Solution

So far I have drawn a picture of cylinder and labeled everything i could. Now I know z=z, that is no problem. I know that x=r*cos[theta] and y=r*sin[theta], I also know that r=sqrt[x^2+y^2] and i know that phi=arctan[y/x]. The only way that i know how to derive these is drawing a triangle and showing it, is there any other way, like actually deriving them?

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't think there is any other way. The polar coordinates, in the first place, are defined by the drawing you have made, so in my opinion, there is no more "fundamental" way to arrive at the relations.

You can construct a matrix of partial derivatives that convert from polar to Cartesian (the way you know how to do, obviously, from your post). Then, invert the matrix.

1. What are cylindrical polar coordinates?

Cylindrical polar coordinates are a type of coordinate system used in mathematics and physics to describe the location of a point in three-dimensional space. They consist of a distance from the origin, an angle in the xy-plane, and a height above the xy-plane.